block image

Family Enterprise of the Year Award (FEYA)

Established in 1986, the Family Enterprise of the Year Award (FEYA) is given annually by Family Enterprise Canada to celebrate and promote the achievements of Canadian family businesses and the considerable contribution they make to both their local communities and our national economy. Each year, business families across Canada are nominated and recognized as Regional FEYA recipients and then considered for the National Family Enterprise of the Year Award presented at the National FEYA celebration held at Symposium.

Do you know a family business that deserves to be honoured – maybe even your own? Are they community leaders, innovative, charitable, inspiring, or just an all-around great business to work for or deal with? NOTE: FEYA Nominations for 2023 are now closed.

block image

Announcing our 2022 National Family Enterprise of the Year Award Recipient

Congratulations to this year’s National recipient, DriverCheck Inc. of Ayr, Ontario, and to the Page family!

DriverCheck is Canada’s “Fitness for Duty” expert and a leading provider of workplace medical testing and assessments. Founded in 1996 to provide drug and alcohol testing to the trucking industry, the company has experienced incredible success, growing from one employee to over 300, from one client to over 6,000 and from one drug test to millions of tests performed.

Read the story of this great family business

Do you know a family business that deserves to be recognized?

benefit image

Are you aware of a family business that has made a big impact in their community? Or is very innovative? Perhaps they provide an outstanding customer service experience? Do they create a positive working environment for all employees?

Does this sound like a business you know? Perhaps even your family business?

Nominations for FEYA 2023 are now closed.


FEYA Process


Complete the FEYA Nomination Form by June 30, 2023 (now closed).


Eligible family business nominees can download and submit a FEYA Application Form by July 14, 2023 (now closed).

Regional Celebrations

In the fall, regional finalists will be announced and Recipients will be celebrated at in-person events.

National Celebration

Regional FEYA Recipients and the National FEYA winner will be honored at our Symposium 2024 in Calgary.


To be eligible, nominees must be a family-owned business defined as a private or public company, organization or holding company that has the following characteristics:

  • Canadian
  • Employs family members
  • Multi-generational (now or in the future)

Looking for the forms?

If you know a family business that deserves recognition, complete the Nomination Form by June 30, 2023.

If you are a family business owner and want to apply OR your business has been nominated, download and complete a FEYA Application Form and email to by July 14, 2023 (now closed).

block image

The 2022 BC Region Family Enterprise of the Year Award Recipient

Congratulations to this year’s recipient, Cove Continuity Advisors Inc. of Vancouver, British Columbia and the Geiss family!

Cove was founded in 1990 by Bernie Geiss to provide accountable and transparent life, disability and critical illness insurance advice and products to Canadian individuals and businesses. Starting from a spare bedroom of the family home, Cove is now a highly respected leader in the insurance industry whose family and business values are inseparable and have evolved out of their commitment to social and environmental responsibility.


block image

The 2022 Prairies Region Family Enterprise of the Year Award Recipient

Congratulations to this year’s recipient, Vesta Wealth Partners Ltd. of Calgary, Alberta and the Fortmuller family!

The company has a rich history dating back to Germany in the late 1800’s and continues to be managed by members of the family today. Vesta Wealth Partners is the most current family project. The vision of Max Fortmuller, CEO and a fifth-generation family member, was to create a wealth management platform to build the family’s human capital and experience as owners and managers, as stewards of wealth and as innovators. The Vesta platform enables family members to pursue their individual and collective passions inside and beyond Vesta.


Family Enterprise of the Year Award Recipients

2022 DriverCheck Inc.
2021 Kalesnikoff
2020 Akhurst Machinery Limited
2019 Regional Group
2018 ATCO Wood Products
2017 Larsen & Shaw
2016 Sutton Financial Group
2015 Morley Hoppner
2014 Capital Iron
2013 Archway Insurance Ltd.
2012 Halifax Seed Company
2011 Saskatoon Funeral Home
2010 Beau’s Natural Brewing Company
2009 The Bragg Group of Companies
2008 O’Regans Automotive
2006 Dollco Printing
2004 Samuel Son & Co. Limited
2002 Cardinal Meat Specialists
1999 Sifton Properties Ltd.
1997 The BC Bearing Group
1996 Byland Nurseries
1995 The Price Family Group
1994 St. Joseph Printing
1993 H.J. Langen & Sons
1992 Duha Colour Services
1991 St. Hubert Bar-B-Q
1990 Rogers Communications Inc.
1989 The Pioneer Group
1988 Tilden Rent-A-Car
1987 The Bentall Group
1986 E.D. Smith & Sons Ltd.

Contact Us


Email us about FEYA
Questions about FEYA?

    Lost your password? Please enter your username or email address. You will receive a link to create a new password via email.